I’m becoming one of Those guys.. ?

Three. 

It’s my favorite number, and this week I completed my third test for Filipino Martial Arts and Muay kickboxing at IMPACT Martial Arts Academy. I also got a nickname “Triceratops” during testing today too. (I’m easily amused by coincidences like that.)

Guro Ervin made a statement after my technique portion of today’s Muay Thai test. It reminded me of something that I’ve forgotten. He said something like “You know.. When she first came here, she was not into martial arts at all..”

It made me laugh, because it was true! I had no real intention of training martial arts when I first came to Impact because I was actually just applying for a job. I needed a job – I got the job – and I got More than what I thought I needed! More on that story at a later time. 🙂

Impact has helped save me from myself.

I’m sure it’s done that for the other students as well!

From the time that I started working with Impact, I’ve observed the changes that happen within the school. It’s truly amazing to see the changes that occur with the students’ skill, character, and overall presence.

If you’re not really into martial arts, I’m sure you’ve met AT Least one person in this world who is really into martial arts: a marital arts addict. They could tell you differences between different styles, they know some of the history behind those styles, and they talk about which one is their favorite. Then they talk about their favorite moves, movies, or favorite fighters… And you look at them – trying to relate to them and understand their passion, but all you think is…

“Man… This guy is Really into martial arts… O.o  How are they So enthusiastic about that stuff? It’s just like..punching and kicking.. and hitting stuff, or whatever…”

I was one of those people who looked at martial arts addicts that way.

..and i’m Finally (after about 2 years) just Starting to scratch the surface of understanding them. Martial arts really is a way of life, and it’s played a big part in mine.

I’ve learned a lot so far, and there’s So much more information to learn, So many more hard tests to do, So many more changes that I know will happen, and I’m looking forward to learning more and going through all these experiences. I’m just super thankful to be where I am at the moment..

They say “Third times a charm,” and I believe it. It’s different for everybody, but I think after your third martial arts test, you Might just begin to realize that you think differently about your training and about yourself. That awareness is a beautiful thing.

I don’t ever want to stop training..

It’s become something that I need!

I need it to keep my body active.

I Need it to keep my mind sane..

I need it to keep me happy…

You remember those martial arts addicts that I talked about earlier?

Hah, Yeah. I’m becoming one of them –  and I LOVE it! >:)

1 thought on “I’m becoming one of Those guys.. ?

Leave a comment